How to specify the number of GPU cores used in my codes instead of all

Hi,
When I run my program in CUDA FORTRAN, can I specify the number of GPU cores used for my program? Instead of all cores.

Thank you very much.
Yu Zhang

Hi Yu Zhang,

You can’t restrict the number of cores, but can set the number of blocks and threads per block. The product of these can set to the number of cores you want to use. However, you wont be able to control where the blocks are scheduled, hence they may or may not be packed on the same SM units. In other words, you may have idle cores on some SMs if the blocks are spread out across the SMs.

In general for performance, it’s best to not restrict the total number of blocks and instead base this on the problem size. Hence, it’s questionable to make this restriction. Though if you’re trying to partition the GPU to allow for multiple binaries to run concurrently, you may consider virtualizing the GPU. I have no experience with vGPUs so can’t offer guidance, Hence only offer this link as a starting point: What Is a Virtual GPU? | NVIDIA Blog

Though if you can give more detail about why you’re wanting to restrict the number of cores, I may be help offer solutions.

-Mat

Hi, Mat

Thank you for your reply!

Suppose I specify the number of blocks and block size during kernel invocation as follows:
call kernel<<<10000, 256>>>(a_d,b)
While there are 46 SM, and 64 SP per SM, totally 2944 cores in my GPU, how kernel launches and organizes these 2560000 threads to utilize the GPU cores? Can I only use 2000 GPU cores for these threads?

Another question, if call kernel<<<1, 256>>>(a_d,b), and how kernel organizes these 256 threads to utilize these SMs?

Thank you very much again.
Yu Zhang

how kernel launches and organizes these 2560000 threads to utilize the GPU cores? Can I only use 2000 GPU cores for these threads?