Implications of WARP Size Future GDUs

In a previous forum entry, someone mentioned that the WARP size, if it were to change, would most likely get larger and not smaller. I can see why it would be better if the WARP size gets smaller.

I’ll put my 2 cents in. If anyone knows the importance of the WARP size, could you please add a few more cents :)

[U]Importance of WARP Size (Smaller or Larger than current size of 32:[U]

• A smaller WARP size may be advantageous because the number of threads affected by the divergence caused by some flow control instructions is smaller. Finer granularity for programs needing flow control. In this case, it seems that a WARP size of 1 would be ideal.

I just thought of this. I apologize if I’m putting down on paper something that is very obvious to most users. I just started learning about this CUDA stuff.

It seems to me that it would be very advantageous with future GDUs, if there is a runtime function that would allow the programmer to control the WARP size in use with a Kernel. Let me explain:

If I have a Kernel that without many flow control instructions, then it may be advantageous for the WARP size to be 32, or some other relatively large value. On the other hand, if I have a Kernel that needs some flow control instructions, then divergence is an issue that influences the performance. For such a case, a WARP size of 1 may make more sense.

NVIDIA: Since GDUs are programmable beasts, do you see any benefits to having an architecture for future GDUs that allow the programmer to select the WARP size or other such parameters that affect performance, on a per Kernel basis?