in-kernel malloc no kernel lauch although code="sm_21,compute_20"

hello!

I’m new to CUDA and I’ve written a program that works quite well if I use an (big enough) array instead of allocating dynamically memory in the kernel.

I think my graphic card GT540m supports compute capabillity 2.1, so I would expect the in-kernel allocation described in the CUDA_C_Programming Guide on p. 138 (I use the CUDA toollkit 4.0) working. I can compile it. But at running it takes about 6 times more time than the array version of this kernel. And when I profile the program, this kernel isn’t shown up as launched, all others kernels are listed there. The array version of this kernel is shown up. Both - malloc and array version - are running correct with equal results in my tests.

So I think, this kernel with malloc and free get emulated by CPU or something like that?

I used the flag at Code generation: compute_20,sm_21 and use the visual studio 2010.

Does somebody have an idea what I could have done false? Or how I can continue to figure out the problem? Or is this an “profiler misinterpretation” and malloc does take 6times more time?

I hope you can help me out there, i need the dynamic allocation cause of string operations.

best regards
gunther

Here the log of the compiling of this kernel:

1> Compiling CUDA source file kernel.cu…
1>
1> D:\Eigene Dateien\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\mdldg\mdldg>“C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v4.0\bin\nvcc.exe” -gencode=arch=compute_20,code=“sm_21,compute_20” --use-local-env --cl-version 2010 -ccbin “C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin” -I"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v4.0\include" -G0 --keep-dir “Debug” -maxrregcount=0 --machine 32 --compile -arch=sm_21 -D_NEXUS_DEBUG -g -Xcompiler "/EHsc /nologo /Od /Zi /MDd " -o “Debug\kernel.cu.obj” “D:\Eigene Dateien\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\mdldg\mdldg\kernel.cu”
1> tmpxft_00001fcc_00000000-11_kernel.ii