Incorrect Result after large loop in kernel

Hello all,

I am just learning, and have found a situation where an incorrect result comes back from a kernel call. I have simplified the code down to a single small file that demonstrates the error, but can’t seem to figure out what I could be doing wrong. The basic problem results from running too many consecutive memory accesses from inside a loop. I have tried preventing/forcing loop unrolling (pragma unroll), intentionally splitting the loop into two, (with different index variables), and a few other simple idea, but nothing. Any help is very appreciated (if I’m making a stupid error), or trying the code on different architectures/os/cards for reproducability!

I have attached a code that causes the error. It should generate:

Begin Program:
Initial Value: 0.000000
Final Value: 16777216.000000

Interestingly, I only see the problem for loop sizes > 16777216 (thats 2^24); I don’t know what to make of this, but don’t believe its a coincidence! Below is the output of deviceQuery:

deviceQuery Starting…

CUDA Device Query (Runtime API) version (CUDART static linking)

There is 1 device supporting CUDA

Device 0: “GeForce 8600M GT”
CUDA Driver Version: 3.20
CUDA Runtime Version: 3.20
CUDA Capability Major revision number: 1
CUDA Capability Minor revision number: 1
Total amount of global memory: 268238848 bytes
Number of multiprocessors: 4
Number of cores: 32
Total amount of constant memory: 65536 bytes
Total amount of shared memory per block: 16384 bytes
Total number of registers available per block: 8192
Warp size: 32
Maximum number of threads per block: 512
Maximum sizes of each dimension of a block: 512 x 512 x 64
Maximum sizes of each dimension of a grid: 65535 x 65535 x 1
Maximum memory pitch: 2147483647 bytes
Texture alignment: 256 bytes
Clock rate: 0.94 GHz
Concurrent copy and execution: Yes
Run time limit on kernels: Yes
Integrated: No
Support host page-locked memory mapping: Yes