Injecting current into +5V line of USB port -- is it OK?

My apologies up front if this question is more appropriate for Orbitty carrier board supplier – unfortunately, I’m not an expert on USB, so not sure where to start.

I need to connect a USB camera and a G3/G4 LTE USB modem to the USB OTG port on Tx2 + Orbitty carrier board configuration. Total current draw from the two USB devices is expected to be up to 865 mA, which is more than the USB OTG port can supply. In this application, space and weight constraints make it difficult to use a powered USB 2.0 hub. Instead, I’d like to splice an external +5V power supply between the +5V and GND lines within a USB cable. In doing so, the +5V line going back into the Orbity carrier board would become an open circuit; however, the ground line would remain unbroken. My question is, will this work? More specifically, will my approach cause any problem for the USB circuitry when it tries to negotiate with connected devices to allocate power? Is there a way in software to disable current sensing on USB port so this injection scheme will work?

Thank you

Hi, please contact carrier board vendor for the detail design on USB port. Generally there is no way to disable output current limit, it is a hw request and also a safety request. USB enumeration can be done without involving vbus level.

Usually for that situation, connect the usb data lines and ground but on the device side (the ones plugging in) do not connect to the +5v line coming off of the usb connector, or if you need to splice wires just have the jetson side +5v line taped off and disconnected. Connect the device +5v to the other power source. Make sure to tie all three grounds together.

Thank you for fast reply and the key word “USB enumeration,” which lead me to basic online documentation explaining USB protocol.