Inlining and register spills

Hi,

I am relatively new to CUDA programming. I am transitioning an existing code base to run on GPUs. While tuning performance, I noticed that not compiling functions in the same source file that launches the kernel has a tremendous impact on the performance (30 - 40%).

These functions are large (2000+) lines of legacy code and they were originally compiled in their own source files. However, if I were to just include these functions in the same object file that launches the kernel, and compile one big object file, I see way better performance. However, this is horrible for code organization.

NVPROF indicates that the number of l2_local_load_bytes and l2_local_load_requests is greatly reduced when these functions are included in a single build. Further, the local_hit_ratio also significantly improves. However, the register count is not always effected as indicated by printing the GPU trace with NVPROF.

Since these functions were huge, I do not expect them to be inlined, and yet, somehow the register pressure is reduced.

I was wondering if there were certain flags I could throw into the compilation/linking phase that could allow me get the same performance benefits without having to have one giant object file.

This is only relevant topic I was able to find:

https://forums.developer.nvidia.com/t/nvcc-cant-inline-device-code-across-compilation-units-workarounds-feature-
request/53451

Thanks for your patience and advise!

Separately compiled object code requires functions to make use of the ABI, which implies restrictions on register usage and overhead from additional instructions for call, return, manipulating the stack frame. Also, very importantly, optimizations across compilation units cannot be performed unless the linker provides link-time optimization. These effects occur with all processor platforms, CPU or GPU.