Instansiating objects directly to the gpu Totally new to cuda

I’ve been developing in C and C+ for a few years and I’m interested in getting into cuda. We currently run a C based in house app that requires millions of objects to be stored in memory. Theres a lot of initing and destroying of objects through out the course of it’s execution. We can easily integrate cuda into our infrastructure if cuda allows objects to be stored in the gpus memory as well all the instansiating of those objects from struct be executed from the gpu. Is this possible? From what I’ve been reading so far the main thing the cuda sdk can support is executing formulas and moving chunks of memory around from gpu mem to system mem and visa versa.

I would also be interested to know

The following code worked. The CUBIN said smem usage was 420 bytes.

Thus, the data portion of the object is stored in “shared memory” if the object is intantiated in smem.

I think a similar declaration of an object should also be possible with global memory.

I am using CUDA 2.2. I hope this support is officlal one from NVIDIA. if some1 could confirm, it would be useful.

#include <stdio.h>

class sample

{

private:

int data[100];

public:

__host__ __device__ sample()

{

for(int i=0; i<100; i++)

data[i] = i;

}

__host__ __device__ int fetch(int i)

{

return data[i];

}

};

__global__ void mykernel(float *result)

{

__shared__ sample d;

int sum = 0;

for(int i=0; i<100; i++)

sum += d.fetch(i);

*result = sum;

}

int main(void)

{

void *result;

float data;

cudaMalloc(&result, sizeof(float));

mykernel <<< 1, 1>>> ((float*)result);

cudaThreadSynchronize();

cudaMemcpy(&data, result, sizeof(float), cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);

printf("%f\n", data);

return 0;

}

I guess the question you should mainly ask yourself is : “Do I need performance boost? if yes, how can CUDA/GPU help me?”