Interaction between CUDA++ and GPU Architecture

Hi all,

I’m new to this forum, so just in case anyone’s curious, I’m an applied math student just learning about parallel computing and its applications to scientific computing, so if anyone has any advice, info, or links to share, that would be great! I’m writing a very basic dense matrix multiply function, and I need help tuning it.

My question is this:
When you call a kernel, you stick a snippet of code looking like <<<nBlocks, blockSize>>> in the function call, so that a kernel is executed as an array of blocks, each containing some number of threads.
. I’m familiar with only the most basic GPU architecture i.e. a card has ~10-20 Multiprocessor/SMXs (I have a Kepler card), each with it’s own memory unit, with each SMX containing something like a number of cores, and each core capable of running a single sequential thread. So how does CUDA++ divide the blocks among the SMX (assuming I’m only doing flops)? And if I’m misunderstanding GPU architecture, please let me know!

Also, how does communication between memory work exactly? I move my data from my CPU cache/DRAM/Hard Drive to the GPU’s VRAM, then stuff gets divided to each SMX’s shared memory unit, then from there to the register. Is that correct?

Thanks!
Best,
Eric

Perhaps you confused “blocks” with “memory blocks”. What is ment in CUDA with “blocks” is a “subdivisions of the computations/threads into “thread blocks””.

So it’s more like a computational block. Having “said” that. The way the graphics card probably works is basically the same as a main ram <-> cpu system.