Invalid Configuration Argument

I’m very new to cuda. I am currently working on some simple kernels to getting a better knownledge.

Let me explain my problem:

I have a matrix with independent elements and I want to manipulate each element of the matrix.

My configuration looks like the following:

#define WIDTH  640

#define HEIGHT 480

#define NUM_THREADS 16

dim3 blockDim(NUM_THREADS, NUM_THREADS);

dim3 gridDim(WIDTH/blockDim.x, HEIGHT/blockDim.y);

kernel<<<gridDim, blockDim>>>(pixels, WIDTH, HEIGHT);

cutilCheckMsg("Kernel invocation failed");

The above code runs fine, but if I change NUM_THREADS to a higher value (e.g. 32) then I always get an

“Invalid Configuration Argument” error.

The code runs on a GTX260M with max 512 Threads per Block. So where is the problem?

if you set NUM_THREADS = 32 , then

according to blockDim(NUM_THREADS, NUM_THREADS);

the thread block has 32 x 32 = 1024 threads, which exceeds hardware limit (512 threads per block),

hence you obtain error message “Invalid Configuration Argument”

Thanks for the answer. Stupid mistake :)

well I can’tl figure out… WHETHER THE PRODUCT OF ALL DIMENSIONS SHOULD BE LESS THAN OR EQUALTO 512 or THE

BLOCKSIZE CAN BE 512 X 512 X 64 (quadro FX 4600) ?? :confused:

512 is the maximum total number. But it can be even lower, depending on register usage.

I am launching a kernel with following configuration :

int NO_OF_PIX = 12000;
int NO_OF_SCAN = 4000;

dim3 block_dim(500,500);
dim3 grid_size(NO_OF_PIX/block_dim.x,NO_OF_SCAN/blockdim.y);

THE KERNEL LAUNCH IS SUCCESSFLL AND THE RESULTS ARE CORRECT. ACCORDING TO YOUR STATEMENT THE KERNEL LAUNCH SHOULD FAIL?? ALSO,

CAN ANYONE EXPLAIN THE FOLLOWING DEVICE QUERY LINES : (possibly through a good example) :unsure:

maximum threads in a block : 512 X 512 X 64
maximum grid size = 65535 X 65535 X 1

I own a quadro FX 4600 and the above program is failing for NO_OF_SCANS = 5000 ?? :whoops: