Jetson Nano with Stereo Labs Zed 2 Camera

Hello. I am an Aerospace Engineering student and I am working on my senior capstone project this semester. My team is developing a drone mounted sensor system that will collect river depth data and velocity of the flow at a cross section for the purpose of monitoring river discharge. We are using the Stereo Labs Zed 2 camera to capture the velocity of the river flow and we are planning on using the Jetson Nano to power and control the camera. We are looking to store the video footage on a micro SD card so that we can upload and post-process it later on the ground. I’ve been looking around and I’m unsure on how we’re going to do this. Is there a way to have the Jetson Nano save the camera video feed to the micro SD card? We will also be having a GNSS receiver on-board that will also need to save data to the micro SD card. Is it possible to use the Jetson Nano for the needs of the camera as well as the needs of the GNSS receiver?

Hi @jekn0229, I believe the ZED SDK allows you to save the video stream to a compressed file, which you can playback later. You would just save this file to your SD card. You probably would just want to get a fast SD card to alleviate any concerns (i.e. V30 speed class or above).

Note that if you weren’t using ZED (which has it’s own SDK that contains the recording functionality), the typical way to compress/save the video stream to disk would be with GStreamer. For more info, see the L4T Accelerated GStreamer Guide.

GNSS/GPS would be pretty low-bandwidth, so you should probably be able to log that simultaneously to a separate file on your SD card.

Are you Sure about using ZED 2 Camera , its currently not supported by Isaac SDK , i have a Nvidia RTX 3080 GPU and a ZEd 2 Camera .

I have so far tried and have failed to even get the Sample ZED_Camera app running , it fails miserably and i get a No GPU Compatible error.