Jetson TX1 does not detect rplidar A2

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie in Jetson Kit. I have bought a Jetson TX1 Kit. Since the memory of Jetson TX1 is low, so I have bought a SSD and connected with Jetson TX1 by SATA, and successfully configure the Kernel, synchronized SSD. Then, I installed ROS, ZED camera package, and rplidar ros package. Only one problem I met that Jetson TX1 could not detect rplidar. Can you please give me some ideas ?. I have read many information on web, however, I still could not find out the way to fix it.

Thanks in advance,

Best,

Hi there, the rpLIDAR is probably not being detected because you need to build the kernel driver module for the CP210x serial converter that it uses - see this post: [url]https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1000764/jetson-tx1/rplidar-and-jetson-tx1/post/5214159/#5214159[/url]

JetsonHacks has a tutorial for building kernel modules:

[url]https://www.jetsonhacks.com/2017/08/07/build-kernel-ttyacm-module-nvidia-jetson-tx1/[/url]
[url]https://github.com/NVIDIA-AI-IOT/Formula1Epoch/wiki/RPLiDAR-Setup[/url]

Thank you dusty_nv,

I have installed CP210x before, and I also tried with JetsonHacks tutorials. However, I still could not see the ttyUSB for rplidar. I just wonder whether the version of Kernel and version of Jetpack should be matched. I installed Jetpack 3.2 for Jetson TX1. And, I installed the Kernel 4.4.38 to reconfigure the Kernel for Jetson TX1 ( after I command: " uname -r " on Terminal, “4.4.38.jetson-v0.1” appeared " ). I have checked that 4.4.38 Kernel support for Jetpack 3.2

Hope to hear from you soon,

If “uname -r” changed, then the base Image file was changed. All that would have been needed is to add a kernel module, and the base kernel could be left alone. If you have rebuilt the kernel, then you must also rebuild all of the modules (which are now searched for in “/lib/modules/4.4.38.jetson-v0.1” since this is the new “uname -r”).

Really a kernel is three things: