Jetson TX2 usb and fan issue

Dear community

i am almost unexperienced in embedded stuff and i need some help with TX2. I have booted Jerpack 3.1 and everything was seeming ok. But when i power on the jetson USB ports do not work. If i set the jetson in recovery mode and restart this time usb ports work. And even the heatsink get extremely hit fan never starts. I have tried to execute jetson_clocks.sh but it replies cant access fan. I have read this issue may be related to something called dtb ? I am totally new to this stuff. What is dtv? can anyone explain how to overcome these problemes with really basic explanation.

thanks

I don’t know about the fan. If you are using the default development board, then flashing any JetPack should be ok so far as dtb goes.

Device tree is a modular way of naming setup of specific hardware without having to customize the kernel for every hardware setup. The boot loader and other software typically need to set up registers or other details of various peripherals (think clocks, USB modes, so on) before a driver can actually use the device. The device tree is how this is stored on disk for initial setup of the hardware. The dts file is the device tree source, the dtb file is the device tree binary…the dtb is compiled via the dtc application from a dts file to produce the dtb file.

You would typically change the device tree if you use an alternate carrier board (it has alternate peripheral devices). Sometimes a pin on the Jetson can have multiple function, and you may want to use the alternate function instead of the default function…this too could be accomplished via a device tree. In the case of a different carrier board you’d need a completely new device tree (there may be parts in common with another device tree, but the module would be non-functional without the update).