Kernel bound by instruction and memory latency.

Hi,

I’m still new to this, so please forgive my ignorance…
I have modified one of the samples quite a lot (separable convolution) and am profiling my first cuda application.

The profiler tells me my kernel performance is bound by instruction and memory latency. The compute graph shows about 8% (almost all arithmetic operations, a tiny bit memory operations), and the memory (L2 Cache) shows slightly less at about 7% utilization.

Hence I performed latency analysis as recommended by the profiling guide. It then says that occupancy is not limiting kernel performance. It says that this should be a good way of improving instruction and memory latency?

It may be helpful to note the following:
I am using Jetson TX1 (so Maxwell I think), grid size [80,15,1] (1200 blocks) block size [16,8,1] (128 threads).
Occupancy per SM:
Active blocks 16 out of max 32.
Active warps 45.54 out of max 64.
Active threads max of 2048.
Occupancy: 71.2%

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Many thanks!

Your grid size, block size, occupancy all look good to me, i.e. conducive to good performance. From your description I can’t tell what your code is doing and what bounds it performance based on the description provided. The number of threads running concurrently should be sufficient to cover basic memory latencies.

If the profiler claims that is not the case, my followup question would be: Is there thread divergence that leads to many thread being inactive? Is the memory access pattern “random”, leading to many non-coalesced memory accesses?

What does this mean? 8% of what? Does “almost all arithmetic operations” mean your code is compute bound? What kind of arithmetic operations are these? What is the ratio of floating-point operations versus bytes consumed per unit time?