kernel invocation from another cuda file

Hello,
I am new in cuda programming and I practice on BlackScholes. I would like to create a cuda file which will be able to invoke the kernel because I want to change the number of threads used. Until now I tried to do it by calling some cuda functions like cudaLaunchKernel but it doesn’t work. I guess there is a general problem in doing so, because there are many factors I can not detour such as the parameters used in kernel function. But is there any possibility to find a way to do this?

Any help appreciated.

Kind regards

1: What is your GPU model and above all the computing capability on it?
For dynamic parallelism you must have at least a Kepler architecture card.
Computing cap. 3.0 or later.

2: Have you checked the segment on Dynamic parallelism in the programming manual?

That’s a good starting point in lieu of more details from your environment.

I have a Quadro P1000, a Quadro K2200 and a GeForce GT 720. The truth is that I haven’t checked the Dynamic Parallelism segment but I will. The general concept is that I don’t want to change the BlackScholes code but I want to call the kernel with different number of blocks than those it already has.

Thank you very much for your reply!

Should work fine as far I can tell for all your cards.

P1000 should be Pascal based.
K2000 should be Keplar based.

GT720 I am uncertain due to the fact Nvidias specs page is still not always presenting “Computation level” or architecture on the page for all GeForce cards but the 700 series should be either Keplar or Maxwell if I got the system correctly adjusted in my mind.

Only Fermi and older than 2.x are unable to handle “Dynamic Parallelism”.

Actually dynamic parallelism (CDP) requires compute capability 3.5 or higher:

http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-c-programming-guide/index.html#cuda-dynamic-parallelism

Kepler devices of compute capability 3.0 or 3.2 are not supported for CDP.