L1 above ideal transactions conflicting with L1 transfer overhead?

The nSight visual profiler under source view has a column called ‘L1 above ideal transactions’ which i’m having trouble understanding. I’m not an expert, but I have a good understanding of efficient global memory access, coalescing, et cetera, but this has me stumped. The documentation defines it as ‘Number of 128-byte transactions between the SM and L1 that exceeded the ideal count for the made request.’ but ‘count’ is not defined. Count of what? And the description ends with ‘Use the Instruction Count source-level experiment to identify instructions which execute with less than a full warp.’ so this statistic must have something to do with execution of partial warps. I thought I understood this until I found a line in my code in which this statistic is zero, but ‘L1 transfer overhead’ is 3! How can this be? I realize now that I do not understand it. Can anyone elucidate? Thanks!

“L1 above ideal transactions”

could this not also be interpreted as ‘least possible’ transactions?

if x bytes must be transferred, and a transaction can mind y bytes, then under ideal circumstances, it should take z transactions, also the minimum/ least possible transactions

under non-ideal circumstances, non-coalescence, etc, it may take c transactions, with c > z

the profiler knows full well the minimum/ least possible transactions, and can thus compare this to the actual transactions

but, i am no expert either

could this not also be interpreted as ‘least possible’ transactions? <<