Limitation on number of device function calls in a kernel? (and its effect on maximum grid size?)

Hello,

This is Mike. I’m a Physics PhD student and am trying to use CUDA for one of my scientific computing research projects.

(short version of the question:)

For a GPU kernel that accepts a rather complicated device lambda function as argument, say integral<<<blocksPerGrid, threadsPerBlock>>>(f,x0,x1), where f can be any device function or the composite of device functions, is this device function expanded inline by the compiler in the kernel code? If so, is there a limitation to the number of function calls (or the depth of function calls, which depends on how complex f is) the kernel can make to f?

I wonder what resource on the GPU does such a “device function call in kernel” use up? Is is the shared memory or the register, or global memory, or some other part of the GPU’s memory? If it affects the shared memory & register, would the length of the function (or number of calls to the function) limit the total number of threads per block? Would it limit the blocks per grid?

Thank you!

(the full question:)

Many thanks to the kind answer from the topic: https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1043958/cuda-programming-and-performance/passing-lambda-functions-as-arguments-to-kernels/ I have now learnt to pass device functions/lambdas as arguments to kernels, in order to perform generic operations such as integration(function, x0, x1) and integration2d(function, x0, x1, y0, y1).

I have now finished writing a program (which is part of larger a physical simulation) that can acquire a function F (which describes a physical field) and integrate it over a 2D plane efficiently with the power of GPU, and a simple timer shows it to be over x20 times faster than CPU (even under double precision using a consumer card - which only has 1/32 DP throughput).