Linux T4L 19.2 "after the flash"

Greetings, I am new to Tegra and SoC computing and development. Familiar with Slackware since 1996, added other distributions as time passed.

The Jetson TK1 board seemed to be just what I wanted for a project: trying to prototype a relatively inexpensive but very full-featured OpenSource Flight Simulation “DIY project” that would also have a very wide range of other uses when not simulating flight.

TK1 arrived May 22. I made a dev container out of a tupperware and followed the Quick Start Guide. I downloaded and flashed the “sample file system” and the Tegra Drivers tarfiles and discovered that an early model Sony Bravia was not detected properly but I was able to get in via ‘ssh’ to establish that the unit was running. Another, more recent Bravia was detected enough to get X running but there’s a problem with that. The 32-inch KDL-32EX500 is detected as “72-inch Sony” and the result is that there’s a bit of the edge of the desktop not shown under the 1080p setting. Other, smaller, resolutions work fine.

The hardware clock ships with a start date of Feb 1. sudo ntpdate pool.ntp.org fixes that. sudo hwclock -w writes system time to hardware clock and persists after multiple soft reboots (have not tested persistence across a 24-hour power-down).

The default user “ubuntu” needs ownership/permissions changed on ~/.mozilla before firefox will work, and of course the hardware clock needs to be set correctly before it can accept SSL certificates.

It has been necessary to use apt-get to get a lot of utilities such as lynx and the BOOST libraries I needed had to be downloaded and built from source. Compilation time, under an hour, but first one must install g++. Assorted other missing things included packages like mlocate, and dselect.

I downloaded the CUDA debs from the TK1 support page and tried to install them with sudo dpkg --install FOO.deb and ran into dependency problems. apt-get -f install fixed the dependency problems.