Map algorithms from CPU-GPU: recursive ans stack

I have two questions about how to map some ideas from CPU to GPU

• The fact that CUDA does not support recursive function limit the ability to use CUDA solve many problems, like that related to tree that the tree traversal normally perform in recursive manner. So i wonder what is the common strategy that people use to solve this problem.

• One way to solve recursive is to use the stack. I don’t know what is the efficient way to build the stack in CUDA. Some one say i should use share memory, but since there’s no thread lock
    in CUDA, how different threads can access and update stack concurrently.

Is there any reference about how to build in CUDA especially with shared memory, because global memory may be too slow with some thing we frequently access.

Any idea is appreciate, i’m a novice in this field and and want to improve my understanding about cuda

I strongly suggest you do some reading about data-parallel algorithms before you start trying to port CPU algorithms directly to the GPU. Many problems can be recast as parallel algorithms, but trying to just port across recursive algorithms on linked data structures may not work very well for you.

Google 'data-parallel algorithms". While it is a very old paper, the Hillis/Steele paper is quite good, and there are many other good references and tutorials out there. GPU Gems 2 and 3 also contain a number of useful papers.

Geoff.

In our experience, when recursion is very thread-wise coherent and absolutely unavoidable, local memory makes a reasonably good stack. Shared memory is indeed faster, but it’s usually too small for a stack purpose.
By the way, why do you need accessing and updating a stack concurrently?