Memcpy thrust vector to cuda mapped opengl vertex buffer?

Greetings All,

I am still learning the ropes with cuda and with parallel thinking in general so apologize if this is common know how. Currently, I have a huge vertex buffer(opengl) that is filled via cuda kernels; marching cubes to be precise. All is great except that I have millions of vertices so I am trying to simplify them where the source array is on the gpu. My question is how does one copy a thrust vector to a mapped vertex buffer: possible?

My snippet of the process:

//vertexArray created with GL_FLOAT, 3, cudaGraphicsMapFlagsWriteDiscard, GL_STREAM_DRAW
        pangolin::CudaScopedMappedPtr mappedVertexArray(*vertexArray);

// ... generate mesh ....

std::cout << "Original vertex count: " << totalVertexCount << std::endl;

// pointer to hold cuda mapped vertex array
        float3* devPtr;
        size_t size;

// set the pointer
        cudaGraphicsResourceGetMappedPointer( (void**)&devPtr, &size, mappedVertexArray.res);

// create host vector from cuda pointer
        thrust::device_ptr<float3> thrustPtr = thrust::device_pointer_cast(devPtr);
        thrust::device_ptr<thrust::tuple<float,float,float>> d_mcVertexTupleArr((thrust::tuple<float,float,float>*)thrust::raw_pointer_cast(thrustPtr));

//create working list of verts from
        thrust::device_vector<thrust::tuple<float,float,float>> d_verticesToCompact(d_mcVertexTupleArr, d_mcVertexTupleArr + totalVertexCount);

// sort
        thrust::sort(d_verticesToCompact.begin(), d_verticesToCompact.end());

//delete duplicates
        d_verticesToCompact.erase(thrust::unique(d_verticesToCompact.begin(), d_verticesToCompact.end()), d_verticesToCompact.end());

//get indices
        thrust::lower_bound(d_verticesToCompact.begin(), d_verticesToCompact.end(), d_mcVertexTupleArr, d_mcVertexTupleArr + totalVertexCount, d_mcIndexArr->begin());