Memory management

This isn’t really a question concerning CUDA, but rather a memory management issue I ran into while programming CUDA. I’m a novice in C programming and this is as far as I can see an error originating from faulty memory management. I’m used to java programming so this is quite new to me.

This is a function in my CUDA program and the idea is to run it several times in a for loop. It runs like it should the first time, but the second time it hangs on the line indicated by the comment in the code.

[codebox]int* calculateNewArray(int *oldMatrix, int oldSize, int oldRowLength, int newSize, int newRowLength, int newNumOfRows, int extraRows){

printf("Test3\n");

int *newMatrix_h, *newMatrix_d, *oldMatrix_d, *newMatrixReturned;

size_t newMSize = newSize*sizeof(int);

size_t oldMSize = oldSize*sizeof(int);

printf("Test4\n");

//Allocating space on the host for the result of the addition step

newMatrix_h = (int *)malloc(newMSize);		//<--------------------------The program hangs on this line the second time the function is run

printf("Test5\n");

newMatrixReturned = (int *)malloc(newMSize);

//Allocating space on the device for the old and the new Matrix

cudaMalloc((void **) &newMatrix_d, newMSize);		

cudaMalloc((void **) &oldMatrix_d, oldMSize);

//Initializing array on host

for(int i=0; i<newSize; i++){

newMatrix_h[i]=(int)0;

}

//Copying the old and the new Matrix to the device

cudaMemcpy(newMatrix_d, newMatrix_h, sizeof(int)*oldMSize, cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

cudaMemcpy(oldMatrix_d, oldMatrix, sizeof(int)*oldMSize, cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

//Computing execution configuration

int blockSize = 100;

int nBlocks = 1;

//Running the kernel which adds together the rows of the old matrix

addMatrix <<< nBlocks, blockSize >>> (oldMatrix_d, oldRowLength, newMatrix_d, newSize, newRowLength, newNumOfRows, extraRows);

printf("Test6\n");

//Copying the result back to the host