multi dimension array

Hi,

I am really new to Cuda just started with the help of Cuda programming guide and tool kit. In the matrix multiplication is it compulsory to declare it in a single dimension …
when i was declaring this Kernel

//kernel declaration

__global__void matmul( float m, floatn, float*p, int width)

{
int tx=threadIdx.x;
int ty=threadIdx.y;
int bx=blockIdx.x;
int by=blockIdx.y
float tile_width;
float row=bytile_width+ty;
float col=bx
tile_width+tx;

float k;
int row,col;
float pvalue=0;

for(k=0;k<width;k++)

{

row=(int)m [bywidth+ty];
col=(int)n [bx
width+tx];

pvalue+=m[row][k]* n[k][col];
}
p[row][col]=pvalue;
}

on debugging it shows the errors as follows in the second last line of program…
error1: expression must have pointer to object type.
error2: expression must have integer or enum type.

Please help me. This problem really screw me a lot and even with my best effort I am not able to find it’s solution.

Thanks in advance…

Instead of pvalue+=m[row][k]* n[k][col];

pvalue += m[row*width+k]n[kwidth+col];

and instead of p[row][col]=pvalue;

p[row*width+col] = pvalue;

pvalue and p are (type *) pointers, p would be (type **), an array of pointers to pointers. This is standard C fare.

Piyush: To further elaborate this concept consider the following code sample:

main()

{

int a[3][4]= {

1, 2, 3,4

5, 6, 7, 8,

9, 0, 1,6

};

display(a,3,4) /* Display the content of 2D matrix aa

}

display(int *q, int row, int col)

{

int i, j;

for(i=0; i<row; i++ )

{

for(j=0; j<col; j++)

printf("%d", *(q+i*col+j)); 

}

}

the statement “(q+icol+j)” fetches the elements of the 2D matrix one by one. You can verify this by assuming any base adrress, taking i=2, j=3 and calculating (q+icol+j). It will come out a[2][3].