Need help implementing a simple kernel! I need to write a kernel for a simple euler forward meth

Hello everybody! I am fairly new to CUDA and I was writing a program to solve a heat equation using a simple Euler Method. I wrote the function in C++ and it seems to work fine but when I tried to implement the kernel the results are slightly different. e.g:

GPU CPU

1 302.0542908 302.0537720

2 -15.1334448 -15.1327314

3 -15.0020161 -15.0026360

The difference is usually greater when I increment the number of time steps for the Euler method. Here’s both the kernel and the function.

[codebox]void fwdEuler(float* u, const float dt, const float dx)

{

// Function for taking one Forward-Euler time-step. For all

// interior grid points, it replaces U[j] with U[j] at the next time

// step. Values at the boundaries j=0 and j=nj are unchanged. The

// array next_u is necessary for temporary storage.

const float nu = dt / (dx * dx);

float* next_u;

next_u = new float[N + 1];

for (int j = 1; j < N; j++)

next_u[j] = u[j] + nu * (u[j - 1] - 2. * u[j] + u[j + 1]);

for (int j = 1; j < N; j++)

u[j] = next_u[j];

}[/codebox]

When I call the function in the main:

[codebox]for (int time_step = 0; time_step < nsteps; time_step++)

fwdEuler(h_b, dt, dx);

}[/codebox]

Here’s the kernel:

[codebox]global void fwdEulerKernel(float u, float next_u, const float dx,

const float dt, int nsteps, int N)

{

int idx = blockDim.x * blockIdx.x + threadIdx.x;

float nu = dt / (dx * dx);

// Skip the first element in u

if(blockIdx.x < 1)

idx +=1; 

for (int i = 0; i < nsteps; i++)

{

if(idx < N)

{	

next_u[idx] = u[idx] + nu * (u[idx - 1] - 2. * u[idx] + u[idx + 1]);

u[idx] = next_u[idx];

}// end if

}// end for i

}[/codebox]

Any suggestions??? Thanks!

Doesn’t look like anything to worry about. You have about 6 significant figures of agreement in each result you quote, which is about what you would expect for single precision floating point, I would have thought.