Need help in implementing Hough Transform for line detection Need help in figuring out what's wr

Hi Guys,
I am new to CUDA. I am trying to implement Hough Transform for line detection in CUDA. I use this piece of code in Mathematica 8. I do get an output but it’s pretty weird, random bright spots instead of waves(curves) that is expected I guess. I know there are a couple of implementations available in this forum but those appear too complicated to me given that the algorithm is pretty much simple. Right now I am not looking to implement a optimized version. I just wan’t it to be as simple as possible and work i.e give correct results. Here is my kernel. Note I haven’t added code for threshold checking.

HoughTransform =
"global void hough_line(unsigned char * in, unsigned char * out, int outint, mint outsize, mint threshold, mint width, mint height,float arraySines, float arrayCosines )
{
mint xIndex = threadIdx.x + blockIdx.x
blockDim.x;
mint yIndex = threadIdx.y + blockIdx.y
blockDim.y;
mint index = xIndex + yIndex
width;
mint i;
float rho = 0;

if (xIndex < width && yIndex < height)
		{

for ( i = 0 ;i < 36;i++)
			  {
				 rho = xIndex * arrayCosines[i] + 
						yIndex *    arraySines[i];
				  index = (i * 5.0) + rho * 180; 
				  if(index < outsize)	
				  atomicAdd(&outint[index],1);
			  }

}		  		  
     __syncthreads();
     for( i = 0; i < outsize; i++)  // Had to do this as atomicAdd doesn't support unsigned char*
    {
   out[i] = outint[i];
    }	
  }";

Sorry if my implementation seems pretty naive and if I have made nay obvious mistakes. I am trying to learn. Thanks.

__syncthreads() syncs within one block only. If you need out as char, launch a second kernel for the conversion, don’t do it within the same kernel.

Thanks tera,