Need help to better understand CUDA structure

Hello,

i’m a french student and currently doing an internship.

My job is to modified a program (already written in C++) to make it work on CUDA.

I have a Quadro 4000, and I don’t know a thing about CUDA (though i tried to read the programming guide, it’s still obscur).

For this specific GPU, there are 256 Cores, and 1024 threads per blocks, and each block has 48 Kb shared memory, right ?

What is the link between cores and blocks ? or cores and multiprocessor ?

Is it : 8 MP, and 32 cores/MP = 256 cores ?

And with 8 blocks per MP i have 64 blocks of 1024 threads ?

And what’s the difference between threads and resident treads ? Because if i have 1024 threads per block max, it must be 8*1024 > 8000 per MP, and not 1536 ?

I have to wonder how i can cut 3 loops on many many images for the program to be as fast as possible … (currently taking several hours).

Thank you, and i hope you can understand my English ^^"

RyuKa

Please, i need to know how many blocks there are on the Quadro 4000 before considering anything else …

You can have as many as you want - 65535 x 65535 x 65535 is the upper limit and that is the same for every fermi card. But I suspect that isn’t really what you are trying to ask. The Quadro 4000 has 8 multi-processors, and each can run up to 8 blocks of threads concurrently. Each block runs for its lifetime on one MP. As a block finishes on a MP, another can be run from the pool of unrun blocks. In this way all the blocks from a grid of any size (up to the 65535^3 limit) are run and retired, and the kernel launch is completed.

Does that make things any clearer?

I see. Thank you !
So, i can run 64 blocks at the same time, and each one can run 1024 threads ?
The 48 Kb shared memory is for one MP ? So there are 6 Kb of shared memory per block ?