Newbie question: How to allocate global constants

Hi!

I’m just beginning to learn CUDA programming and have run in to the following problem. I have some global constants that the whole program shares. Part of some calculations are done with CUDA kernels, and I use OpenGL (GLUT) to visualize the results later. CUDA just returns values as this point.

Since I want the constants that CUDA use to be the same that the rest of the program use, I tried the following:

In a file called “constants.hpp”:

const float TIMESTEP = 0.001;

Then, in another file called “functions.cu” I tried this:

#include "constants.hpp"

__device__ __constant__ float D_TIMESTEP = TIMESTEP;

But the compiler returns the following error message:

“1>kernel_functions.cu(11): error: can’t generate code for non empty constructors or destructors on device”

What am I doing wrong, and is this a good idea to start with?

Thanks

Victor

you don’t need the device specifier to declare a constant in device memory. By using device it looks like nvcc is trying a treat your constant as a class or function declaration and choking on it.

I tried to remove the constant or the device specifiers, but the same error occurs anyway. I just tried

__device__ __constant__ D_TIMESTEP = 0.001;

instead of

__device__ __constant__ D_TIMESTEP = TIMESTEP;

and it worked fine! But it takes away the point, which is having the variables set at only one point in the code!

Something like this works for me with CUDA 3.2 on linux :

#include "constant.h"

__constant__ float d_timestep = timestep;

__global__ void kernel(float *time)

{

time[threadIdx.x] += d_timestep;

}

with constant.h containing

const float timestep = 1.0e-3f;

If you can’t compile that successfully, then you might have found a compiler bug.

Thanks, I tried that and have exactly the following:

constants.h

const float timestep = 0.001;

main.cu

#include "constants.h"

__constant__ float d_timestep = 0.001;

{

}

int main()

{

return 0;

}