newbie questions

Hey all,

I am new to Cuda, but excited to get started…lots of opportunities with programming on the GPU. Just some basic questions for you.

(1) Do you think the following link is a good enough of a resource to really get me going and started?
[url=“http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_develop.html”]http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_develop.html[/url]

(2) This question, although still an easy one, is a bit more specific. I have a simulator that is coded up in java…several thousand lines of code spread over a dozen or so java files. I’d like to run this simulator on the GPU to see how things speed up. Is there any way to make this happen with the simulator written in java? Or do i need to completely rewrite the simulator in C, and in the add in the cuda-specific lines where i send the data to be computed over to the GPU, perform the computation(s), and the retrieve the data. I’m just trying to find a way of not having to rewrite this dang simulator…it’ll be basically like starting from scratch.

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Jonathan

Just wanted to add that this simulator is basically doing a TON of simple computations…but it could potentially be hundreds of thousands, and millions, of these same computations at every tick. Obviously, there will be a computational bottleneck on a CPU…and even on a GPU. But with a GPU, as you all know, I have a lot more growing room before getting to that bottleneck.

So back to my original question, is there a way i can somehow test this and use the GPU while still keeping my simulator in java? (and yes, i’m aware that Cudu is basically a C-like language)

Thanks.

-Jonathan

If you rewrite the code that does the computations, build a dll and wrapper so it can be accessed from java, yes. Otherwise no.

Everything, and much more, you need to know to get started is in the programming guide on the page you posted.

Okay,