No Serial console for u-boot until Linux has run

Hi folks,
I have a Connect Tech Astro carrier with TX2 hooked up to a serial console. When applying power, it boots into Linux. But I don’t see any bootloader output on the serial console: the first output is Linux kernel output.

If I reboot linux without power cycling, I see bootloader output and can interrupt u-boot loading to start PXE or similar.

How can I change things so as to get serial communication with u-boot without booting Linux first?
My guess is that something isn’t being initialised properly by one of the boot loader stages.

I do see serial output when flashing in recovery mode.

– Peter C

U-Boot and the Linux kernel set up serial console separately. U-Boot and Linux both probably need device tree changes to set up the serial UART correctly. I’m just guessing (and I have no experience with Connect Tech boards), but perhaps the U-Boot setup has something extra to do before it will work at that stage. In the dev carrier the regular 16550A mode is set up in U-Boot to the correct port, and then within Linux the older 16550A mode driver is also used. An alternate driver once in Linux is the NVIDIA DMA-capable driver (U-Boot doesn’t understand DMA so if you want continuity of service then both U-Boot and the kernel need to set up for ttyS0…the “high speed” DMA-capable UART would have used “ttyTHS0” instead of “ttyS0”).

Yes I know. The thing is, after the board undergoes a soft reboot, serial output comes from the first-stage bootloader (so I see,

[0000.195] I> Welcome to MB2(TBoot-BPMP)(version: 01.00.160913-t186-M-00.00-mobile-175b7c7b)

On power up this info doesn’t appear. I don’t have source to the early boot code, to see if it’s trying to set up the clocks and UART correctly. Linux can talk to /dev/ttyS0 perfectly well.

The Connect Tech carrier is meant to be compatible with the NVIDIA boards. The only DTS changes are for added peripherals; the basics for the UART and clocks are the same.