Noob - Seg fault from just populating a large array in unified memory?

I’m new to CUDA (+ limited C++ knowledge). I have a GTX 970. I’m using the CLion IDE on Ubuntu.

I’m working with a large 2d array of floats. After research I decided to flatten it to a 1d array of size 5877512.

I tried riffing on the “even easier introduction”. For proof of concept I used cudaMallocManaged to allocate unified memory for my array, and tried to fill it up with the same arbitrary float value.

My code always seg-faults when it tries to insert into array index 1469440. The terminal output reads “Process finished with exit code 139 (interrupted by signal 11: SIGSEGV).”

It seems like I’m hitting some sort of memory limit, but I don’t understand how. If I instantiate the array as normal C++ heap memory, I can fill it up no problem. The error only occurs when I’m using the unified memory with cudaMallocManaged.

The code is not complicated. Here it is:

#include <iostream>

int main() {

int numRows = 734689;
    int numCols = 8;
    int arraySize = numRows * numCols; // 5877512

// a 1d array treated as a 2d array using width * csvRow + col indexing convention
    float *sliceArray; 

cudaMallocManaged(&sliceArray, arraySize);

for(int i = 0; i < arraySize; i++) {
        sliceArray[i] = -0.091;
        cout << i << endl;
    }
}

I’ve run nvidia-smi, and it shows my program using 45 MiB prior to crashing. I haven’t gotten far enough to get much use from CUDA error checking or cuda-memcheck.

This doesn’t make sense to me as a memory issue as it seems like there should be more than enough? Maybe there’s some obvious stupid mistake I’m making here?