Optimization of kernel for batch convolution of many small matrices

First of all, please note: I am not asking for bug fixes.
I am new to CUDA programming (not a very good coder as it is), and I only wrote this code because I’m in desperate need of a fast code to convolve many small matrices with a few convolution masks.

All I ask for is suggestions on what changes I can make to my code to make it even faster it’s a matter of approach - I assume my code is full of problems, which I can solve on my own. I am here to ask for help from those who have experience and know how to solve a problem in a manner suitable for the GPU.
If you have a different, faster approach to suggest, please do.

//matrix to process
    inline int mat2proc()
    {
        return blockIdx.y*threadDim.x*threadDim.y + threadIdx.y*threadDim.x + threadIdx.x;
    }

inline int place(k,s,i) //k is an index in the big matrix; s is the size of the small matrix, i is an index in the small matrix
    { //this calculates the index in the result matrix where we should add the product
     //of an element in line/row k of the big matrix and line/row i of small matrix (size s)
        return i-s+k+1;
    }

__global__ void batchConv (float *res, const float *mats, const float *masks, int s1,
    int s2, int matCount, int maskCount)
    //res = result matrix. mats= 3D array with matCount matrices of size s1xs1
    //masks = convolution masks masks. there are maskCount of them, all of size s2xs2
    {
    extern __shared__ float mask [];
    int ResSize=s1+s2-1; //size of convolution result
    //but 
    int mNum = blockIdx.x; //the number of x blocks is the number of convolution masks.
    float *tmpRes;
    cudaMalloc((void**)&tmpRes,ResSize*ResSize*sizeof(float));
    cudaMemset((void*)tmpRes,0,sizeof(float)*ResSize*ResSize);

if (threadIdx.x < s2)
        if (threadIdx.y < s2)