optimizing the execution dependency

hi,
I am new in CUDA and I need some suggestions to optimize my code,
although the prog works well, but I wonder if there is more parallelism can be applied on this code, I used the Visual profiler and found out that performance is bounded by the instruction and memory latency, and there is an execution dependency, I also used the 3D indexing x,y,z but there is no improve in the execution time.
I simplified my kernel as followed where it consists basically of three independent instructions. any advises please ? can I make each instruction executes on a single thread?

__global__ void simple_vbo_kernel(float4 *pos, float slopx, float slopy,float slopz)
{
   int blockId = blockIdx.x + blockIdx.y * gridDim.x;
   unsigned int idx = blockId * (blockDim.x * blockDim.y) + (threadIdx.y * blockDim.x) + threadIdx.x; 

float u = 0.0f +idx*slopx;
    float v = 0.0f +idx*slopy;
    float w = 0.0f +idx*slopz;

pos[idx] = make_float4(u,v, w, 1.0f);
}

You can certainly crank up your parallelism by a factor of 4 (i.e. increase total thread count by a factor of 4) by getting rid of the float4 treatment.

I certainly would not recommend that if you are launching “enough threads”, and if you are not launching enough threads, you might start by considering why that is, and is your problem too small to be interesting on the GPU.

More generally I question your diagnosis and suggest there is likely not much you can do to improve this code. It is almost certainly a memory bound code, so for performance analysis you should determine what is a reasonable bandwidth target, then see if your kernel is hitting that bandwidth target or not. If it is, there is nothing else you can do, focusing on just what you have shown here. It would shock me if this code, launched on a sufficiently large grid, did not come very close to the peak achievable bandwidth for your GPU.