Parallel processing with large arrays

Hello,

I’m a newbie to CUDA, went over the documentation and the examples and I’m about to implement some code using multi-threading.

My multi-threaded function needs to receive 5 variables:
var1 - sequential write-only float** array that will contain the result of the computation. This variable can get really large. 300-400 megabytes.
var2 - a 2-3megabyte float* vector. read only & sequential.
var3 - a 1-2megabyte float* vector. read only & sequential.
var4 - a small 1000-2000 byte float* vector. read only & sequential.
var5 - a small scalar, 8 bytes. read only.

These variables need to be accessed by all the threads (I will need something in the order of 100-150 threads, one block). All the threads write results into var1. Each thread will write into his own section of var1, no problem with collisions and conflicts there.

Question #1:
I understand that shared memory is limited to 16 KB, therefore I will not be able to store vars1-3 in this memory. Is that correct? Will it be possible to store var4-5 in shared memory and vars1-3 in global memory? Would that be the appropriate implementation?

That’s it for now… I’m sure I’ll have more questions once I’ll understand the basics here… :mellow:

Thanks!
Y.

You can copy all the vars to the device… After you’ve done this you can call the kernel and do your computations. Am I right that you only have 150 threads running?

Thats not a lot. I think you will not have a great speedup compared to the CPU, this because the occupancy of the GPU is very low. And the overhead of copying your data will be higher than you computations.

If you still want to do it on the GPU try to make your number of threads a multiple of 32. 160 threads will work better than the 150 I think.

But good luck with your project and welcome.

Thank you… I’ll look into that.