Per-pixel rendering (post process OpenGL)

Hello!

I have a task of per-pixel rendering some physical effects with CUDA. Something like raytracer…

For start point I used PostProcess example by Simon (thanks a lot).

I have to say that Simon’s example runs slow…

Every frame in this example we read from the pbo_source and change this, and write to pbo_dest, then swap the buffers.

I modificate so that without pbo_source I render in pbo_dest some image in real-time. It is just a simple sin cos processing of pixel colors with 1000 per-pixel iterations depending on x, y and time.

But during the interchanging of frames the image is twiching. It is near by 10 FPS via 1024x768 threads and 16x16 block size.

In Cg + OpengGL there is now frames twiching.

May be I have this issue because of per frame kernel calls with 1024x768 threads and per frame DeviceToHost PBO copies? I am not good with OpenGL, but I thought that PBO objects a situated in G80 device, and there is no huge data transfers between host and device.

How can I write direct in device back frame buffer via CUDA kernel?

Test fully code:

__global__ void cudaProcess(int * g_odata, int imgw, int imgh, float time)

{

unsigned int x = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

unsigned int y = blockIdx.y * blockDim.y + threadIdx.y;

float red = 0;

float green = 0;

float blue = 0;

// calculate uv coordinates

float u = x / float(imgw);

float v = y / float(imgh);

u = u * 2 * __sinf(__log2f(4 + __sinf(time)) * __cosf(time) * (1 - u) * __cosf(__sinf(time) * u)) - 1;

v = v * 2 * __cosf(__log2f(u * u * v) * (1 - v));

// calculate simple sine wave pattern

float freq = 2.0;

for(int i = 0; i < 1000; i++)

{

time += __cosf(__expf(u * u * v)) * __sinf(__cosf(v * i) / (__expf(v + u + i * i) * u));

}

red += abs(__sinf(u * freq + time) * 255.0);

green += abs(__cosf(v * freq + time) * 255.0);

blue += int(time) % 255;

g_odata[y * imgw + x] = rgbToInt(red, green, blue);

}