Performance without ubuntu resource

Hello. I’m a newbie on nvidia board.
I worked without ubuntu or any gui environment in other board.
I have doubt ubuntu resource will affect to overall jetson system performance.
Can someone explain why jetson tx2 using ubuntu gui resource and if I can get more good performance without ubuntu resource?
We are not using display in jetson board and just running our algorithm(cpu, gpu).

You don’t need lightdm or window management software, but what many people don’t realize is that X11 is an interface to the GPU in general, and is not merely for connecting a monitor. Much of the software out there expects X11 as the API on top of the video driver. The buffer the driver works with is normally set up via the “DISPLAY” environment variable which X11 sees. It just happens that desktop GUI software is present by default. You could put in a virtual X desktop (such as for desktop sharing), and this too would provide that DISPLAY environment…but it wouldn’t be running a real monitor.

The desktop itself, lightdm, and anything you may think is X, probably is just a program being run in X…X itself has no such requirement. X runs a single application…if that application happens to be a window manager, then what you get is a full desktop. That application could just as easily be “xterm” and your entire desktop would be “xterm” without any of the desktop multitasking amenities. X is a protocol and API operating on a buffer which usually is in a graphics card. It isn’t a desktop or GUI in and of itself.

You might find interest in this related forum thread:
[url]https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1036010/jetson-tx2/underflow-using-pal-720x576-hdmi-video-output/post/5263098/#5263098[/url]