Preparing Image for custom carrier (Orin Nano)

Hi all

I am about to commence preparing an image for a custom carrier PCB.

I have no previous experience with Nvidia, my previous embedded experience is on Yocto.

So I need a bit of assistance to ensure I don’t go down the wrong path

In short, my carrier is a cut down version of the devKit plus a few changes to the pinmux xls…

I have changed the pinmux excel sheet and generated the three dts files

I am not going to refer to this guide, but it seems that guide talks about multiple different methods to achieve the same thing ….

I want to create an image that works with my new carrier…

Here’s the guide I will follow

https://docs.nvidia.com/jetson/archives/r35.3.1/DeveloperGuide/text/HR/JetsonModuleAdaptationAndBringUp/JetsonOrinNxNanoSeries.html?highlight=cvb

I have some questions;

1. Do I prepare and then compile the new image with a production Orin nano plugged into the dev kit?

2. Do we actually have to recompile the image after changing the 3 dtsi files ?

3. In the section “Naming the board”, where is this actually done?

4. The “root file system configuration” section talks about changes, what changes are needed ?

5. The “MB1 configuration changes” section talks about making changes… What do I need to do here? Just drop in my new dtsi files?

6. “Mem-BCT” - am I just leaving this as per the devKit image?

7. “MB2-BCT” do I just leave this as it is? No need to change anything ?

8. After performing the steps above, which I can narrow down (please confirm) to some conf file changes and then dropping in the dtsi files… what do I then do? Don’t I need to recompile the entire image (like I would have done with Yocto?)

9. Lower down the guide, you mention this “ Porting the Linux Kernel Device Tree Files” - this seems to be just changing dts files and regenerating a new dtb…. Is this “instead of” what you describe above by using an entirely new dts file? Or as well as?