Problem with Rtabmap on xavier with melodic

Hi,

I’ve just switched to using a jetson xavier from the tx2 due to processing and ram restraints. Having installed the necessary software ie ROS and Rtabmap, The 3D map viewer window doesnt seem to want to work and consequently i’m unable to view the point cloud being built. Everything works perfectly fine on the tx2 running kinetic. This happens for both ros-rtabmap and standalone altohugh rviz works fine. Ive built rtabmap and rtabmap-ros from source although ROS is built from package.

Would anyone have any ideas how to overcome this, what may be causing it or what dependencies i’m overlooking.

thanks
Dan

Did you use the same BSP on TX2 and Xavier?
IF not could you verify on TX2 with r32 base.

I’m a little unsure what you’re asking. I’m fairly new to using Linux and have been teaching myself over the last 5 months. All I’ve done with both the tx2 and Xavier is install jetpacks 3.2 and 4.2.1 respectively. Then installed ROS and rtabmap from source to use with the zed cameras.

It could be your configuration not correct.
Please have a check the video node number is the same on TX2 and Xavier.

v4l2-ctl --list-devices

this the output $Failed to open /dev/video0: No such file or directory

Does this use case need camera?
Looks like someone got it worked.

https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/1039544/jetson-agx-xavier/rtab-map-on-agx-xavier-/

I do need a camera, as my project is handheld mapping using ZED cameras and lidar.

I have spoken to the original poster from the link and he stated he just uses rviz as his 3D window also doesnt work. It appears to be a problem from nvidias side and the associated jetpacks. This problem occurs with another person using a nano on the RTABMAP forum and the jetpack 3.3 for the TX2 hence me regressing back to JP 3.2 which works perfectly fine.

Hi,

ZED camera is enabled for Jetson platform from JetPack4.2: