Programming Question

Hello everyone.
I am new to the whole CUDA idea but it is very appealing to me. I want to learn how to program in CUDA and I was wondering what C language should I learn? I am going to learn C# because I want to anyways and I was wondering if I need to learn C++ for CUDA. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

C and C++ are similar, and C# is different.

You’ll basically be using C to program CUDA, you can use some C++ stuff, but C# is another ball game.

Maybe learning C through learning C++ will fit well for your style of learning, but you don’t need to learn C++. Speaking generally, I personally like C++ better than C, as it’s more flexible and sometimes cleaner, especially when using the very nice Boost libraries.

Okay maybe I asked the wrong question. Which programming language should I learn for CUDA?

Thanks for the quick response

Just plain 'ol C is what you need to learn.

Thank you. Are there any really good books about learning C in that case?

I know there is a very standard ‘C’ book out there but can’t think of the title at the moment. If I think of it I’ll let you know.

Also what IDE should I use? It is far easier for me to use MS than any others because I basically get it for free.

Okay sounds good

The C Programming Language, aka K&R

Buy it, read it twenty times, keep it by your bed after that. There’s no equally great book for C++ (or any other programming language, in my opinion), although Stroustrup’s C++ Programming Language is a pretty good reference (but not nearly as concise or easy to get through as K&R).

As far as IDEs go, the standard C/C++ one for Windows is Microsoft Visual C++ (part of Visual Studio). You can get a free version (Visual C++ Express), although I think you should get 2005 and not 2008 if you want to run CUDA.

Thanks for the book suggestion, do you know if they use some other IDE as the example in the book?

MS Visual C++ covers both C and C++?

I think this is what I was thinking of :)