pycuda setting parallel threads, operating like sequential

Hi !

Newbie here !

Ok so i have a small issue at running a PYcuda system in which i utilize 3D blocks to implement the following loop

for (ix=0;ix<40;ix++)
 for (iy=0;iy<56;iy++)
  for(iz=0;iz<8;iz++)
    somefucntionhere()

now i imagined that when i shift this into cuda i would be able to get 17920 parallel threads that would be able to compute my function in the time it takes to compute 1 somefunctionhere() as each block is independent of others. The problem is that if the function takes 0.1 seconds to implement 1 iteration then the whole block takes 9ish seconds to complete, i.e. some parts are getting parallel but not all.

The following is how i set my grid & block, also how i set the loop itself. please tell me what i m doing wrng here

const int ix = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x; //40
	const int iy = blockIdx.y * blockDim.y + threadIdx.y; //56 
	const int iz = blockIdx.z * blockDim.z + threadIdx.z; //8
mymain(drv.Out(dest), drv.In(a), drv.In(RF), block=(10,7,2), grid = (4,8,4))

also when i tryo to put block values directly and use grid as 1 it gives me out of resource error.

I am using 1050ti btw

for further clarification this is what i am asking

somefunctionhere() = > 1 module

and i am running 17920 instances of this module

so the total number of clock cycles to run 1 module = clock cycles to run 17920 modules

is theory correct ? and if so why does my total time is increasing(almost linearly) as i go from 1->17920 (parallel) modules.

CUDA doesn’t necessarily run an arbitrarily large number of threads in parallel. A GPU has a certain amount of parallel processing capability. Once that is saturated, exposing additional work (more threads) doesn’t necessarily result in speed up - things just take longer.