Question about number of threads

Hi, I’m new to Cuda and try to get my head aroundt it. Excuse me if my question is stupid, but if one block can manage 1024 threads, but I have an array with, let’s say 1028 (257*4) items, how do i tell the kernel not to run 2048 threads?
dim3 block(4, 256)
dim3 grid(2)
I ask because I allocated memeory for those 1028 items, then printed from the kernel what the value of each item was, and it printed out 2048 items although there only was 1028. Why is there no access violation when the kernel writes to item[1028] or [1758] that is not there, and how can it be set to a value?

__global__ void mykernel(..., size_t data_size){
  int idx=threadIdx.x+blockDim.x*blockIdx.x;
  if (idx < data_size){
    // profit
    }
}

const int ds = 1028;
dim3 block(1024);
dim3 grid((ds+block.x-1)/block.x);
mykernel<<<grid,block>>>(..., ds);

That’s an example for the 1D grid/threadblock case. You could easily extend it to 2D. Regarding the second question, if you want to see the access violation use proper cuda error checking (don’t know what that is? google “proper cuda error checking” and take the first hit, then read it and apply it to your code) and run your code with cuda-memcheck.

Small (not very far beyond the end of an array, for example) violations don’t necessarily trigger the runtime access violation mechanism either in CPU code or GPU code. But cuda-memcheck will find them in GPU code, just as valgrind (or similar) will find them in CPU code.

Great! Thanks!

I tried cuda-memcheck and found a number of issues.
I was using cudaError_t that comes with Nvidias Visual Studio extention, and that did not find any problems.
Now I wonder, dear Nvidia, why provide an error-finding tool that does not find all errors?