Reflection in Optix Prime

Hi, first of all I am a total amateur so my apologies if my questions sounds dumb. I am trying to make a simple reflection program using Optix Prime from Optix 6.5. I shoot rays from a spot within a cube model that I load into the program as a .obj file. I want to bounce the rays within the cube and see if the reflected rays would intersect with a certain spot (which is also set to be within the cube).

My idea was to get the X,Y and Z coordinates from my hit points and generate rays towards the reflected direction. Is there a function to get these parameters? If so please guide me to it. Thank you.

Let’s answer this from bottom to top.

My idea was to get the X,Y and Z coordinates from my hit points and generate rays towards the reflected direction. Is there a function to get these parameters? If so please guide me to it.

In a ray tracer there are two ways to get the hit surface position:

• Use the standard float3 hitPosition = ray.orign + tIntersectionDistance * ray.direction line formula in world space, or
  • calculate the hit position in object space with the vertex positions and barycentric coordinates and transform it into world space.

Most ray tracing examples use the first method.

I am trying to make a simple reflection program

If you talk about specular reflections, the formula calculating the new outgoing direction from an incoming direction and the surface normal at the hit point is really simple. The normal doesn’t even need to be in the same hemisphere as the rays.
Search for reflect inside the OptiX SDK header (*.h) and CUDA source (*.cu) files.
In OptiX 6.5.0 it’s defined in OptiX SDK 6.5.0\include\optixu\optixu_math_namespace.h
In OptiX 7.2.0 it’s defined in OptiX SDK 7.2.0\SDK\sutil\vec_math.h

using Optix Prime from Optix 6.5.