Running OpenSceneGraph / OpenGL previews on Quadro cards - Heavy CPU peaks

Hello everyone,

Thank you for your time and attention!

I am a software developer working on a software which includes multiple, built-in, real-time OpenSceneGraph / OpenGL previews. In the recent months, several costumers reported that their CPUs stall heavily when using our software. The affected computers always feature specifications similar to the below:

• Intel multi-core CPU (e.g. Xeon, Core i7)
  • NVIDIA Quadro K600 / K620 / FX 770M / 1000M / 2000M
  • Windows 7 Pro x64 / Windows 7 Ultimate x64 / Windows 10 Pro
  • Various NVIDIA drivers in the range of 353.xx to 354.xx

Thus, we have set up the following test system:

• Intel Core i7-3930K
  • NVIDIA Quadro K600 by PNY
  • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • NVIDIA driver 354.56

On said system, the symptoms are the following:

• When running our software with previews enabled, the CPU usage sporadically spikes at 100 % on all cores for about 1 to 10 seconds.
  • In this time, our software as well as most other processes are unresponsive.
  • Apart from these peaks, the CPU usage is < 10 %.
  • The frequency of the peaks varies from about 15 minutes to 20 hours, depending on the test case / software configuration / system configuration (please see details below).
  • The following is a screenshot of the CPU usage history right after such a peak: https://www.dropbox.com/s/h6pnbq3fgkc5uoq/Performance_Graph.png?dl=0
  • Furthermore, Process Explorer tells me that the complete CPU usage is split amongst several threads of our application during such a peak.

I searched for references to similar problems in the forums of NVIDIA, OSG, and OpenMP, and followed some sparse hints without success (keywords: “CPU 100%”, “Quadro” in conjunction with “OpenMP”).

In order to track down the origin of the issue, I did a number of tests. Here are the main test results:

Mandatory circumstances to reproduce the problem:

1. Rendering with the Quadro card