Same JIT program running on Kepler and Maxwell generate different result

Hi,

Currently we are trying to upgrade the GPU from K20 (Kepler Architecture) to M5000 (Maxwell Architecture) for image processing application. However, with the same input, the output is different. The CUDA program involves floating point number computation. It is compiled into PTX and loaded at run time.

As I searched the forum, looks like different architecture may lead to different results if floating point number calculation is involved. e.g. https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/791798/?comment=4375987

Since I’m new to CUDA, could some expert confirm/explain how this can happen? What’s the expectation of these difference?

Many thanks in advance!

Floating point operations don’t satisfy certain order-of-operations identities that we expect for integer operations. For example, with floating point,

(a+b)+c is not necessarily equal to a+(b+c)

Since GPUs sometimes do operations like this “in parallel”, the order of operations may vary from run to run, even with the same binary, but certainly may vary if the compiler (version) is changed, different optimization levels are specified, or a different GPU architecture is targetted (which will happen when the JIT process is used on different GPUs).

This floating point order of operations phenomenon is discussed in many places, such as here:

[url]http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/floating-point/index.html#abstract[/url]

Normally, the differences are small, but people looking for bitwise identical results may not find them.

Please confirm that these are the results from a controlled experiment in which only a single variable was changed: Other than changing the GPU, the system is completely unchanged, both with regard to hardware and to software.