Segmentation fault while passing variables from different modules to kernel

I’m new to CUDA_FORTRAN. Can someone please explain what is wrong with the following code…?
Why am I getting segmentation fault…?

attributes(global) subroutine increment(a)
    implicit none
    real(kind=8),device::a(:)
    integer :: i
    i = threadIdx%x
    a(i)=a(i)+1
    if(a(i)/=2)then
        write(*,*)' Program Passed in Device'
    endif
end subroutine increment

module common
    implicit none
    real(kind=8):: a(2)
    real(kind=8),device:: a_d(2)
end module common

program incrementTestGPU
    use cudafor
    use common
    implicit none
    a=1
    a_d=a
    call prac    
end program incrementTestGPU

subroutine prac
    use common
    use cudafor
    call increment<<<1,2>>>(a_d)
    a=a_d
    if(any(a/=2))then
        write(*,*)' **** Program Failed **** '
    else
        write(*,*)' **** Program Passed **** '
    endif
end subroutine prac

One user in StackOverFlow commented
increment is an external subroutine (not in the module), but has an assumed-shape dummy argument. Did you mean for it to have an assumed-size argument ( a(*) instead of a(:) ). I’m not entirely convinced that CUDA Fortran plays well with assumed-shape dummies but to give it a reasonable chance you’ll likely need to give increment an explicit interface in prac.

I don’t understand what he was saying. I tried a(*), a(:), a(2) as dummy arguments, the program fails every time. What does he mean to give increment an explicit interface in prac…? The program is working fine if I change the kernel to a normal subroutine which increments array in a loop. How is calling a kernel subroutine different from calling a normal subroutine…?

What does he mean to give increment an explicit interface in prac …? The program is working fine if I change the kernel to a normal subroutine which increments array in a loop. How is calling a kernel subroutine different from calling a normal subroutine…?