Single Thread Processing a vector of elements General Concept.

Hello All. I am a novice in CUDA programming and have been following the official guide and wrote few scripts.I need some concepts to be cleared.Following are my questions and problem.

I have a number of N length vectors stacked together. The function I want to run is to compare each such layer( of vector length N) to a constant vector , of length N too.

Then write out results in a separate stack of layers each of length 1. (say true / false values )

As illustrated below.

|<- ------ N ------->|					|<- ------ N ------->|						 |<--- 1 --->|

sample1  +++++++++++++			const. vector  +++++++++++++								result1 *

sample2  +++++++++++++																		result2 *	

sample3  +++++++++++++																		result3 *

sample4  +++++++++++++																		result4 *

I decided to treat the stacked sample vectors as 2D matrix of dimension 4 * N , the constant vector to be 1N and result as 2D matrix of 41.

In my execution configuration, I define a grid of dimension dimGrid(1,4) => Grid of 4 blocks such that 4 blocks arranged in a 1D fashion vertically. The block size is defined as dimBlock(1 , N) => a 1D array of N threads in every block, arranged horizontally.

Ques1: Can I do an operation where I take a 2D matrix and compare it to a 1D matrix , row wise? I know that a simple strategy is to pass on a single row of 2D matrix of samples to kernel function and do it inside a loop. i.e

for( i = 0; i < 4; i++)

{

Compare<<<dimGrid , dimBlock>>>(Sample[i] , ConstVector, Result[i]);

cudamenCpy(host_result , Result[i] , sizeof(int) , D->H)

}

But I want to avoid this as there is transfer time associated in each iteration as shown above.

What I was thinking is to do looping inside the kernel, but not sure whether I will have to use __syncthreads() or not .