slowdown modifying kernel return variable

Hi there,

I’m new to CUDA and I hope, I’m missing something simple to fix.

The code I’m writing sums up contributions from a huge number of point scatterers (sources) placed on the surface of a geometric shape. I’ve parallelized the code by dividing the set of sources into subsets of arbitrary size.

[

greater size means longer kernel runtime and eventually kernel timeout; total number of sources is possibly

great, ranging from 1e3 to 1e12

]

Each thread works on a different subset of the geometry by looping over all its sources.

For each source after a fairly complicated procedure (>200 lines of code) there is calculated

[*]a single float value and

[*]an index,

so speaking serially result[index] = result[index] + value for each source of each sub-geometry.

In pseudocode my kernel looks like[codebox]global void mykernel(float *result, float *parameters)

{

CONTINUE = 1;

while ( CONTINUE ) {

#include "some_complicated_calculations"  /* yielding INDEX, VALUE, CONTINUE */

result[INDEX] = result[INDEX] + VALUE;

}

return;

}[/codebox]Now I’ve got 2 problems with this code:

[list=1]

[*] I’m unsure if the line result[INDEX] = result[INDEX] + VALUE; will yield the correct result. Each thread may read/write multiple times into each index of the array result, there is no beforehand knowledge about when or how, the array result is added to by all threads/sub-geometries.

Maybe I at least would need some atomic operation here, to ensure that between reading result[INDEX] and

writing the increased value there is no possibility for another thread to modify this memory cell.

In device emulation mode the result is the same for CUDA and the plain C reference; without emulation mode there are discrepancies that could stem from different float handling but may come from the problem described above.

[*]The second problem is speed:

[*]Using the CPU-reference version, a test program needs about 500s to run.