Sorting particles into cells

Hi there,

I’m fairly new to CUDA but gained some experience by rewriting a particle-based simulation model in CUDA. However, the performance gain
is quite slow (at about 10x compared to the CPU) - basic problem is the particle sorting into a uniform grid which is the major time-consumer at MY simulation as the collision part is quite simple (as opposed to other particle simulations, where the interaction part is the performance-gainer at the GPU).

I tried both sorting algorithms from Simon Greens particles simulation (sdk examples) but
they are quite slow due to the scattered read/write (the atomic algorithm) or the sorting (the sorting based algorithm). Additionally,
I will try and use texture fetches but I don’t expect a huge
performance gain by that.

Any ideas for improvement?

cheers, Chris

You might look at HOOMD, both the paper and the code. Mr. Anderson does a lot of this kind of voxel distribution.

Nice pointer, thanks - at the first glance, they didn’t speed up the particle ‘binning’ more than I did - but in molecule dynamics they just do the binning every 10th timestep while I need it

twice every timestep…

Hey, you didn’t have to cross-post to the hoomd-users mailing list - I post in this forum regularly!

The original paper is way out of date. GPUs are so fast now, that the binning on the host was actually becoming a 20% bottleneck!

Fermi and its awesome L2 cache comes to the rescue.

My current binning algorithm, which gets about a 10x speedup over the host, is as simple as:

for all particles in parallel

b = computeBin(x,y,z)

n = atomicInc(&d_bin_size[b])

d_ bins[b][n] = index;

Done!