SpMV code from the guide seems not to be working for large matrices

Hello there,

First of all, let me point out im relatively new to the world of GPU programming but still

This is a SpMV for CSR as it is in the programming guide.

global void SpMV(
const float * csrNz_d, const int * csrCols_d,
const int * csrRowStart_d, const float * x_d, float * y_d,
const int num_rows
)
{
int row = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
if(row < num_rows ){
float dot = 0; //or float ?!?!
int row_start = csrRowStart_d[ row];
int row_end = csrRowStart_d[ row +1];
for (int jj = row_start ; jj < row_end ; jj ++)
dot += csrNz_d[jj] * x_d[ csrCols_d[jj ]];
y_d[ row ] += dot;
}
}

This is part of the main () :
int block_size = 512;
int n_blocks = dim.M/block_size + (dim.M%block_size == 0 ? 0:1);
SpMV <<< n_blocks, block_size >>> (csrNz_d, csrCols_d, csrRowStart_d, x_d, y_d, dim.M);

suing the terms in the guide that would be:
SpMV <<< n_blocks, block_size >>> (data, indices, ptr, x, y, num_rows);

Well, this seems to be perfectly working for relatively small matrices of 100 000 elements and sizes of around 50 000 x 50 000.
However, when I input a bigger matrix, e.g. 480 000 x 171 000 with approx 6 million non-zero elements, the returned vector is all zeros. I have tried a lot of different matrices, it only works for the smaller ones. I have placed error catching statements after each device statement, however, it does not report anything. It simply returns my y_d vector of all 0 elements.

I’m using a 8600GT M GPU.

Any suggestions why this could be happening ?

Cheers,

The display driver has a 5 second watchdog timer for CUDA kernels running on a GPU with an attached display. It is quite likely that the larger matrices take more than 5 seconds to execute and are getting killed by the driver. If you add some error handling after the kernel launch and check the return status things will become clearer.