Starting to work with PhysX

Hi
I’m new to Physx and want to learn about it to be able to check if we can use it. When reading the documentation it almost immediately starts with coding. But I would like to read first about how PhysX works in more general terms. Which steps are needed. What do you have to upload to PhysX and in which format. If running a timestep, what does it calculate and how is the result presented. Can you do a collision detection for only one component? (what is reported for collisions). Etc

Is there any document or turotrial avaialble that does not explain the code but the overall function/operations?

Thanks

I’ll help you keep this post live, as long as it takes, until a solution presents itself because man, I feel you. It’s a shame that I’ve been looking for stuff for almost 2 weeks and there’s only dated install info on what to use. It’s difficult to find what you’re looking for if the vocabulary isn’t taught. nearly 20 years doing this and after all this time, programmers still don’t know how to talk to artists.

My friend and I were able to find this link to the newest Repo to PhsX 4.1.1:

We downloaded the Repo and behold… more programmer language that needs deciphering:

## Quick Start Instructions

Requirements:
* Python 2.7.6 or later
* CMake 3.12 or later

To begin, clone this repository onto your local drive.
Then change directory to physx/, run ./generate_projects.[bat|sh] and follow on-screen prompts.
This will let you select a platform specific solution to build.
You can then open the generated solution file with your IDE and kick off one or more configuration builds.

Here’s what I understand… Typically, when normal people install things, we use an *.EXE. There are some in the directory (see attached). However, in the README file, it doesnt state which one of these will work with Max.

So if there is no exe, that means we have to compile our own stuff.