Successful Driver and SDK, but example programs Segment Fault?

So, I’m not sure what to make of this, I’m BRAND NEW to CUDA, so I apologize if this post is in the wrong section or anything… if it is, just point me in the right direction and I’ll take it there :)

Before my problem, here are the relevant details:

Fedora 10
GeForce 9300 GE
NVIDIA Driver: 180.51
CUDA Version: 2.1

Now the problem. I installed the CUDA Toolkit and SDK, compiled and built the example code (for whatever reason, it couldn’t find -lcuda in the /usr/lib/nvidia folder, but once I copied it to /usr/lib, it built fine). I ran deviceQuery and bandwidthTest, both of which passed - I can copy/paste the results here if it might help diagnose the problem. But now whenever I try to run most of the other example programs, I get a Segment Fault error. I have had a FEW of them run successfully, namely: clock, scan, bitonic, BlackScholes, matrixMul… these pass, but others, such as marchingCubes, oceanFFT, particles, smokeParticles, volumeRender, all return Segment Fault.

I can provide more information if necessary. Thanks in advance for any advice.

The fact that you needed to copy the CUDA driver to a different location on your system suggests that something isn’t setup correctly. I’m guessing that you’re using a 3rd party repackaging of the driver, as it doesn’t normally get installed in /usr/lib/nvidia.

Assuming that these problems reproduce with the official NVIDIA driver package AND the CUDA-2.2 release, please provide an nvidia-bug-report.log.gz along with the output from each app that is failing.

there seems to be a pattern emerging: all examples that don’t open up GL windows work fine, everything that does have graphics doesn’t. If this is the case, then that’s another point supporting netllama’s diagnosis.