System update wants to remove cuda-10 and related, seemingly w/ no replacement

I’m a university researcher, and I spent a good deal of time compiling Tensorflow GPU to work w/ CUDA 10 (doesn’t install automatically) and adding a number of packages by hand to get a working neural network system on my computer. I’m running Ubuntu 18.04.

Today, when I went to do an everyday update with apt, I was told that the system wanted to remove:

cuda-10-0 cuda-demo-suite-10-0 cuda-drivers cuda-runtime-10-0 libnvidia-compute-410 libnvidia-decode-410 libnvidia-encode-410
libnvidia-fbc1-410 libnvidia-gl-410 libnvidia-ifr1-410 nvidia-compute-utils-410 nvidia-dkms-410 nvidia-driver-410
nvidia-kernel-common-410 nvidia-utils-410

A bunch more CUDA-related packages would no longer be utilized.

The only new package my system wants to install is: libnvidia-compute-418

And it wants to upgrade the following:

dh-translations gir1.2-dbusmenu-glib-0.4 gir1.2-gtk-3.0 gtk-update-icon-cache libdbusmenu-glib4 libdbusmenu-gtk3-4 libdbusmenu-gtk4
libgail-3-0 libgtk-3-0 libgtk-3-bin libgtk-3-common libx11-6 libx11-data libx11-dev libx11-doc libx11-xcb-dev libx11-xcb1 libxnvctrl0
nvidia-modprobe nvidia-settings unattended-upgrades

I can’t find information on libnvidia-compute-418, but am guessing that it’s not going to substitute for cuda-10 by itself. It will likely just substitute for libnvidia-compute-410, which is one of the packages to be removed.

I see couple possibilities: Maybe once I install the above packages, the next update will call in some update to cuda 10 that will fit into my tensorflow setup (or break it). OR maybe I should try to hold back my CUDA 10 etc. to avoid changes that may break my neural network software.

Any info., thoughts would be welcome.

Win