Thread block/work-group scheduling on Nvidia GPUs?

Hi all,
I’m fairly new to openCL/CUDA and GPGPU programming and would like to clarify something:
Do work-groups/thread blocks interleave like warps within a work-group/BLOCK on a SM of Nvidia GPUs?
Or they are always serialized, meaning one work-group/block has to retire before the next one comes in?

thanks

Eugene

As long as the SM has enough free resources (registers and shared memory), multiple blocks will indeed run simultaneously and interleaved. This can even include blocks from other independent stream’s kernels.

On Kepler, as many as 16 different blocks can run on an SM simultaneously.

Hi SPWorley,

If this is the case. Is there still any performance benefit of having large work-group size (> multiple of warps, for instance)? My understanding is that large work-groups enable warps (in a work-group) to interleave when there is any stall due to memory latency. If work-group can also interleave like the warps in a work-group do, the memory latency can be hidden in the same fashion. Am I misunderstanding anything?

And one additional question, I found that in some kernel, the best work-group size is actually smaller than Nvidia warp size of 32 (like 4). This is really confusing to me. Does that mean my kernels are using too much shared resources so it works better with having only a few number of threads running in parallel?

thanks

It would be extremely unusual to find a kernel where the best warp size is less than 32. Thread-level resources (like registers) are generally allocated for the entire warp, even if you don’t use all the threads in the warp.

What does this kernel do?

Hi Seibert, thanks for your response. (I actually have two questions, would be great if you can help answering the other one)